As prehistory to my suddenly quitting, like in August before I went to go visit my parents, I was picking up an exceptional amount of shifts and I worked a huge number of days in a row, including 2 doubles, and including one evening when I was supposed to be off but the (Thai) (husband) restaurant owner wasn't feeling well and they asked me if I could come in and I did that as a favor to everyone, as one more favor before other people started picking up extra because they had to cover for me on my vacation.
And, like 2 days before my vacation I was getting stressed from all that I was working and I didn't feel like being at work again and I was in the middle of all of these arrangements because I was heading out of town for 2 weeks, and the (Thai) (husband) restaurant owner sees me discreetly checking my phone for an email, and he immediately and sharply gets on me for doing that, with no recognition whatsoever of how much I had been working for him during the past week or that just 2 days earlier I had even come in on my day off as a special favor to him personally.
And, that really rubbed me the wrong way, and my one (chubby) (Thai) coworker could see how pissed I was and she tried to calm me down, but I said that I was finished bending over backwards to do favors for them, and from then on I was doing my minimum number of shifts each week, no more working extra for people, that I'd swap shifts around if people wanted me to, but no more extra.
I also started looking around at like 1-2 places for potential jobs to replace or taper off shifts at the (Thai) restaurant because it was starting to feel like I was tired of it because I had been there too long, but soon I got busy with fall conference preparations and everything fell by the wayside, and the lesser amount of shifts each week gave me distance from there and it started working for me better again, to keep working there.
No comments:
Post a Comment