So, a few months ago on like a Friday night, this
(skinny) (mid-20s) (mustachioed) (light-skinned hispanic) guy with vaguely (hipster)
clothing comes in through the front door and tells me quite normally that he's picking up, so of course I send him to the back counter, and after
he leaves, it turns out that he was all weird and just super super quiet when he went back to the
back counter, like he was practically whispering the woman’s name that he was
picking up the order for, to the point where my one (older) (Thai) coworker
who’s a whiz at the phones and my one (chubby) (Thai) coworker had to ask him to
repeat the name like two to three times, before they could finally hear what it
was and give him the right order.
And, after he leaves, our one (younger) (taller)
(skinny) (Latino-American) coworker comes over, and it turns out that the order
was for his (cool) ex-girlfriend.
“I wonder if that’s her new boyfriend,” he was
like, groaning.
So, we go and take the receipt and plug it into the
system, and it kicks up her name and some guy’s name, and as he starts googling
the guy to see who he is, we open up the order history for his (cool)
ex-girlfriend and we can see that they’ve ordered together like three times,
where she always eats the stir fry that she ate when she was with him, while the
new guy was trying around a few different
dishes before finally arriving at eating the same thing as her.
And, I start making jokes like he should have left a
note in the bag for her, and at first I say that he should be like, “I didn’t
spit in the food,” but then I say that he should have bought a mango sticky
rice and tucked it in there for them with a note to his ex being all like,
“Enjoy this dessert, I thought you needed something sweet,” at my saying which our one (chubby) (Thai) coworker broke out in a smile and was like, “Yes, yes, that’s
the one, you should write that.”
Our one (younger) (taller) (skinny) (Latino-American)
coworker then had to go out on a delivery run, and then when he came back I
told him that he had left one investigative thread undone – “I’m telling you this, to help you as a journalist,” I was like, since he has a history of
working on student newspapers -- and when he wasn’t sure what that investigative
thread was, I pointed out that they had both their names under her phone
number, and so I pull up the order history under the guy’s name, which he hadn’t
looked at since we had only pulled up hers, earlier, and it turns out that they
had ordered together under his name like 3 times starting like 6-7 weeks after
the break-up, before she shifted the ordering back to her name for the like 3
times extending through the order on that very night.
“September?!”, he was like, “September?!”.
And, he then stated his disbelief that she had started
dating the guy so soon after their break-up.
“But when did you start dating that girl you’re seeing
now?”, I was like, and he did some counting in his head, and he was like,
“Yeah, I guess it was around then, too,” but then his mind turned back to the
situation at hand and he still couldn’t believe it, and he was like, “September?!”.
I then suggested that he send our one (chubby) (Thai)
coworker to go do pick-up in his name at the bar/restaurant where his
(cool) ex-girlfriend works, and he liked the idea, but he said that he would
send his current girlfriend instead.
“But what if they fight?”, I was like. “Who would win
in a fight?”.
And, he said that his (cool) ex-girlfriend would win
the war of words, but his current girlfriend is a boxer and she’d win any
physical fight.
“Then she would win,” I was like. “In a situation like
that, words ain’t shit.”
. . .
(Oddly, after this he let us in on a coworker
backstory, too, that the one [white] [female] [townie] delivery driver was in
the same boxing club that his current girlfriend is in, and she was even a
national amateur champion or something.)